Introduction

Hello World!

That sounds very ordinary, and right now I don’t FEEL very ordinary. This is my first tentative step into the blog-o-sphere – I must admit it feels pretty good.

By way of introduction: I am a South African woman, happily married, and thoroughly enjoying life. I work as a Financial Manager.

I want to use this blog to share my many and varied interests with anyone who is interested.

At the moment, I’m very involved in photography so I’ll share some of my best images here.

I am a technophile of note – I love having the very latest geeky toys, so I’ll probably rave on a bit about my iPad and my new Canon DSLR. The Canon is my biggest challenge at the moment – it’s new, it’s heavy and it’s Com-pli-ca-ted. I can’t wait to learn all the ins and outs of the machine, and hopefully take some good, creative shots…

I read a lot, so I will also post some book reviews. My tastes in books range between science, philosophy, astronomy, economics, management, history, politics….the list goes on.

There is a lot happening in my life at the moment. I will probably talk about that too, eventually.

To wind up, I’d like to dedicate this first blog to my lovely daughter, Angela.

Angie, you are an inspiration to me. I hope to one day be as prolific and intelligent a writer as you!

3 comments on “Introduction

  1. Hey Mom,
    Welcome to blogging! I hope that you have as much fun and get as much satisfaction out of it as I do.
    Thank you for the compliment, I would not be the person I am today without your love and guidance šŸ™‚

  2. Greetings,

    you two are breaking my heart. A mother and daughter mutual admiration society…LOVELY…

    I got here from:
    https://plus.google.com/photos/100570943621691880802/albums/5629903005591670465/5695156170344500546

    Thank you Cathy for your kind words about my images.

    I am commenting here because I was moved by your question about what camera I use. To give you an idea how bad this question is, I would like you to see this:

    However, as a life-long teacher, I firmly believe that there are no bad questions, only bad answers.

    Please feel free and encouraged to ask me any photography question you feel that I could help with.

    I will try now to see if I can send you an email with some specific info.

    • I’m sorry you find our happy family love and mutual respect heart breaking… I think it’s rather nice, myself:-)

      Joseph, I asked which camera you use because I have been doing some research on the different types of cameras and lenses, and the technical aspect of the images that photographers produce. I suppose I was really interested to know what type of lens you prefer to use? I have ordered a Canon 28mm f2.0 for my Canon 60D and I’m keen to see how that differs to the 28-55mm f4.0 my husband uses. I have read that the quality of the images is better if you use a Prime lens – do you find that to be true?

Leave a Reply

